Educators

Educators

Our chapter is eager to help music educators and their percussion students learn and grow.  If you'd like someone to come work with your students, please send us an email.  We're happy to help in any way we can.  PAS offers group memberships for K-12 students where the teacher signs up for an account and can have unlimited members of the group for your school!  This is a great way for your students gain access to PAS without having to pay themselves!  You can find more information about group memberships by clicking HERE.

Below are some resources for educators about percussion.  Please feel free to use them or hang up in your rehearsal room!  If you have any questions please email ctpas@pas.org.
__________

Handout from CMEA 2018 Session - DIY Percussion Repairs

Flyers for your Percussion Area

Percussion Education Resources
Articles & Features for Non-Percussionist Educators - PAS Educator's Companion
Equipment & Implement Standards - (from Teaching Percussion, by Gary Cook)  - Gary Cook Equipment Standards.pdf
NCPP Facilities & Equipment Standards - http://www.pas.org/docs/default-source/pasic-archives/ncpp-standards.pdf?sfvrsn=0  

PAS
Resources Library - http://www.pas.org/resources/resource-library
Rudiments - http://www.pas.org/resources/rudiments
Video Library - http://www.pas.org/resources/video-library
Research - http://www.pas.org/resources/research
Professional Development - http://www.pas.org/resources/education/career-professional-development

Cymbals
Zildjian Buyers Guide - 
https://zildjian.com/information/buyers-guides
Sabian Cymbal Guide - 
http://sabian.com/en/pages/education
Drumeo - https://www.drumeo.com/blog/cymbal-buyers-guide/

Drumheads
Musicians Friend - http://thehub.musiciansfriend.com/drum-buying-guides/how-to-choose-drumheads

Drumset
Musicians Friend - https://www.wwbw.com/the-music-room/marching-percussion

Marching Percussion
WGI - http://wgi.org/percussion/videos-perc/
WGI - http://wgi.org/percussion/perc-articles/
WWBW - https://www.wwbw.com/the-music-room/marching-percussion

Timpani
Pedal Tension Issues - http://freepercussionlessons.com/why-the-timpani-pedal-slips-and-how-to-avoid-it/
Yamaha Timpani Manual - https://ca.yamaha.com/files/download/other_assets/1/332701/Timpani_E_om_web.pdf
Ludwig Timpani Manual - https://www.ludwig-drums.com/application/files/3214/6712/2669/AV3LU700.pdf
Steve Weiss Timpani Head Guide - https://www.steveweissmusic.com/product/timpani_head_size/articles

Cases
Modern Drummer - https://www.moderndrummer.com/2015/01/need-know-drum-cases/

Tuning
Drum Lessons - http://www.drumlessons.com/drum-lessons/live-lessons-archive/how-to-tune-your-drums/

Misc. Percussion Education
Drumeo - https://www.drumeo.com/blog/
Pearl Drums -
http://pearldrum.com/media/education/
Vic Firth - http://vicfirth.com/education-resource-library/
Vic Firth - http://vicfirth.com/most-recent-lessons/
Innovative Percussion - http://www.innovativepercussion.com/educational-resources
Vater - https://www.vater.com/#!/lessons
Black Swamp - https://www.blackswamp.com/educational-resources
Malletech - https://www.mostlymarimba.com/inspiration-and-enlightenment/inspiration.html
Malletech - https://www.mostlymarimba.com/inspiration-and-enlightenment/enlightenment.html